One week ago I didn’t even know this award exists and now the Bubbly Traveler is already an award-winning blog! Whoops!

A massive thank you goes to the lovely Chiara from the Adventures Found Me for the nomination! A young adventurer from Italy, she has a passion for travelling, natural living and outdoor activities. Check out her wild adventures and travel tips at: http://adventurefoundme.altervista.org.

What is the Liebster award?

For those who haven’t heard, the Liebster is a fun award created by bloggers for newbies (less than 200 followers) to spread new content in the pay-it-forward manner. To accept the award, the nominee will need to follow a series of steps which may vary from one year to another. These are the rules that my nominator passed on:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you and post a link to their site on your blog
  2. Display the award on your blog
  3. Answer 10 questions about yourself, which will be provided to you by the person who nominated you
  4. Nominate 5-10 other bloggers for the award
  5. Create a new list of questions for your nominees to answer
  6. List these rules in your post
  7. Inform the people/blogs that they have been nominated for the Liebster award and provide a link for them to your post so they can learn about it

My response to Chiara’s questions

1.Describe yourself in 4 words?
A cheerful Vietnamese traveler.

2.How did you choose your blog’s name?

 It took me quite a while to settle on a name for this travel blog. I’ve tried different travel-like general names like My Wanderess but they sound boring even to me. So I decided to get a little more personal: The Bubbly Traveler. This is how Urban dictionary defines the word ‘bubbly’:

A really HAPPY, PERKY, kind of ANNOYING person at times. It’s one of those people who wake you up in the morning really perky and you just wanna smack them in the face

Yeap, that’s more like me! 😛
2016-12-05 15.17.24.jpg
Budapest, Hungary – 11/2016

3.Do you prefer the beach or the mountains?

I’m a mountain person. An ideal vacation for me is going for a hike and being surrounded by unspoiled nature. The higher I climb, the more I see – but the reward won’t come easy! It takes endurance, hard work and patience. Mountains change my perspective on challenges and life, they force myself to push beyond limits before giving out prizes.

2016-10-16-11-54-19Mount Morissolino, Piedmont, Italy – 10/2016

4.Where and when was your first international destination? 

In 2009 I took my first flight and first solo trip to Singapore which was exciting and intimidating at the same time. But the country itself was a green oasis that gave me a feeling of calm and tranquility whether in the airport or along the train line. Of all countries I’ve visited, Singapore is by far the cleanest, greenest and most organized!

5.Which country has surprised you in a positive way and why?

I always keep expectations low during my travels, therefore surprises have become a norm. Belgium astounded me the most for the lively and buoyant nightlife amid terror fears, although it was one month after the October attack.

6.When and where do you blog?

I’m on vacation now so anytime after filling my tummy is the blogging time, although my brain would function best in the morning. A quiet empty room would make a perfect place to write and reflect on the memories, but during long travels I’d prefer jotting down my thoughts on a long-hour bus/train.

7.What’s your favourite blog and why?

It would pick Traveling the world solo by the sweet Aussie girl Ellen Burne! The blog content is unique and varied from the insightful travel journals, hostel etiquettes to discovery of hidden gems (one of my favorite is the bunny island in Japan). Following Ellen’s journey from my early days of blogging, I really look up to her fun story-telling and fascinating photos. Ellen leads an independent nomadic lifestyle that every woman dreams about but few have the courage to do. From Vietnam, wish her all the best with the awesome plan of #7Continentsin2017!

8.If you had the opportunity to travel with a famous person, who would it be and why?

This is a hard one! There are so many inspiring celebs I would love to travel with but if I get to choose one, that would be Emma Watson. Smart, brainy and passionate about feminism, Em shines from the inside out without making any efforts. Did I say she also loves hiking? I’m sure we would have hearty conversations along the trails.

9.Which is your favourite post (written by you of course)?

‘First Snowshoeing in Devero brings back to me beautiful memories of snow-trekking in Devero (Italy) on the very chilly New Year’s Day. It’s the one piece of writing I always revisit when craving for the feeling of freedom and a feast of the senses. Can you imagine tasting the throat tingling ginger tea in the minus five cold while admiring the last rays of sunlight over this spectacular snow-capped mountain?

img_1160Devero, Italy – 1/2017

10.What are your travel and blogging goals for 2017?

This year I will travel the length and breadth of New Zealand while studying full time.The itinerary isn’t ready yet, but probably the first month will be dedicated to the parks, rain forests and pristine beaches around my base Auckland. Since study is a top priority, most of the trips would be taken during weekends and public holidays. Any advices on trip planning/what to do/where to go?

With regards the Bubbly Traveler, for the past six months it has been running with no major purpose but to write for myself. BUT 2017 will be focused on growing traffic for this blog:

  • Increase the number of WordPress followers by 300
  • Sign up for a Twitter account and get at least 500 followers
  • Publish one feature post a week
  • Write one guest post every two months
  • Read 3-5 posts from the Reader widget per day (and leave quality comments below)

Now it’s my great honor to announce the nomination for the 2017 Liebster Award. These are five bloggers that I carefully hand-picked from my reading list and have secretly admired their works. From wanderlust-worthy trips to ordinary life moments, their inspiring stories have taught me about living free and fearlessly. Here’s the new 2017 Liebster Award nominees:

Lady in a Land-rover

Hello Mountains

Postcards from Polebridge

Whistle While You Wait

Travel on a budget

Congratulations, now it’s no secret that I’m their fan! There are so many things I would like to know about my nominees:

  1. How do you define travel?
  2. Why do you start blogging?
  3. What are your best and worst travel moments to date?
  4. Do you have any other passions besides travel (and blogging)?
  5. How do you stay healthy when you travel?
  6. What are your must-have travel accessories?
  7. Do you travel with guidebooks?
  8. Which city is your favorite?
  9. Where are you going next in 2017?
  10. Do you have any advice/tips for female travelers?

I’m so looking forward to your answers! Let’s spread the love!

7 thoughts on “The Liebster award accepted!

Leave a Reply

