Hello friends & fellow bloggers, it’s been a while since my last post. Just to give you a quick update, I have transported myself to New Zealand, a beautiful island country in the southwest of the Pacific ocean where I’m going to study for 18 months AND travel sometime in between.

It’s late summer here in Auckland, the sun shines 12 hours a day and while strolling along the tree-lined roads I can hear cicadas singing. For the time being, I am staying with a young Kiwi couple in West Auckland while waiting for G to arrive from Italy. The suburb is a bit out of town but very quiet and restful. The sky is insanely vast without buildings. Almost every house has a grass lawn in the front yard, some have overgrown fences with lovely little flowers of all colors…It’s only been a few days but I have the impressions that people are so warm and friendly. Bus drivers smile and say hello.  Strangers offer help when I seem to get lost. I mean if there is one place that can be called utopia, this is it.

img_2298-1

From my place, it is only half an hour bus ride to the center. More cars and people here but there is still greenery everywhere I look. My campus is located just five mins walk from Albert Park and Auckland Domain – the lungs of the city. Hills and plants naturally purify the air so I didn’t feel tired after all day under the sun. Since I’ll have plenty of time to explore this beautiful country, stay tuned for more fascinating stuff to come. Meanwhile, here’s a sneak peek 😉

Albert Park

Auckland Central

 St Andrew’s Church

 St Paul’s church

11 thoughts on “Kia ora from New Zealand

      1. Oh we’re probably the worst to give travel advise. We are just too fickle! LOL.
        But if we could do New Zealand again, it would be to round up South Island completely. The last we did was just the main sites (Queenstown, Fox, Dunedin etc). If you can find ways to see the raw New Zealand further south than south, that’ll be fabulous!
        But start with the main sites first, of course. Auckland is where you will be based we presume?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes Auckland is my base. Will save the South island for school breaks!! I guess without a car it’ll be quite hard to fully explore this country…so I’ll need to figure out a way!!! Thank you!

        Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts?